AWP Small Press Publisher Award

AWP’s Small Press Publisher Award is an annual prize for nonprofit presses and literary journals that recognizes the important role such organizations play in publishing creative works and introducing new authors to the reading public. The award acknowledges the hard work, creativity, and innovation of these presses and journals, and honors their contributions to the literary landscape through their publication of consistently excellent work.

The award includes a $2,000 honorarium and a complimentary exhibit booth, including two complimentary conference registrations, at the AWP Conference & Bookfair in the year following the recipient’s recognition. In even years, the award is given to a journal, and, in odd years, to a press.

Finalists for the 2020 AWP Small Press Publisher Award

Winner to be announced at the #AWP20 Conference & Bookfair at the AWP Awards Celebration.

Birmingham Poetry Review

Birmingham Poetry Review, founded in 1987 and published out of the University of Alabama at Birmingham, is a 250–300-page annual journal devoted to publishing poetry and poetry translations by established, emerging, and previously unpublished poets, essays on craft, and reviews of poetry collections. In addition, we feature an internationally acclaimed poet in every issue, including a new suite of poems by the poet, an interview with the poet, and an essay written on the poet’s body of work.


Ecotone’s mission is twofold: to publish and promote the best place-based work being made today, and to offer new editors and designers intensive apprenticeships in the craft. Founded in 2005, the award-winning magazine features writing and art that reimagine place. An ecotone is a transition zone between two adjacent ecological communities. In each biannual issue, emerging and established contributors explore the ecotones between landscapes, genres, disciplines, and identities. Ecotone and its sister imprint, Lookout Books, are produced by faculty and students in the MFA program at UNC Wilmington.

Terrain, founded in 1997, is the world’s first online literary journal of place, publishing a rich mix of literature, artwork, editorials, interviews, community case studies, audio, and videos. The magazine hosts series such as A Life of Science, young scientists on a world of radical environmental change, and the widely acclaimed Letters to America, publishing since the 2016 presidential election with a particular focus on environmental and social justice. An independent journal, is free to access, contains no advertising, and publishes several new contributions each week.


Cathy Linh Che, Kundiman
Jehanne Dubrow, American Literary Review
Ruben Quesada, AGNI


Letters of nomination are accepted each year between August 1 and September 30. All nominations should be in PDF format and submitted through AWP's Submittable portal. Postal submissions will not be considered.

To nominate a candidate for the AWP Small Press Publisher Award, please consult our award guidelines.

Should you need assistance with processing your nomination please feel free to contact Aubrey Kamppila, Conference Events Coordinator, by emailing

List of Winners

See a list of previous award winners and finalists.